Regular Meeting - May 21, 2018

posted May 22, 2018, 5:27 AM by Mary Boege   [ updated May 22, 2018, 8:49 AM by Mary Mixdorf ]





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on May 21, 2018 in Regular Session at the Middle School, Toledo, Iowa at 5:30 p.m.


On call of the roll the following were present:   Jackie Dvorak, Alan Kline, Penny Tyynismaa and Mandy Lekin.  Absent: Ronald Houghton.   Quorum Present


Also present were: Jeff Berger, Mary Boege, John Speer, Ben Adams, Rhonda Shaw and Shauna Smith.


Motion by Dvoark second by Kline to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.


Motion by Kline, second by Dvorak to approve the consent agenda approving the minutes of the April 23, 2018 and May 7, 2018 meetings, financials, bills for payment as presented and early graduation requests of J.O, and S.O.


Public Comments - None


Ben Adams, Middle School Principal presented on the middle school initiatives.


Motion by Lekin, second by Dvorak to approve the following personnel requests as presented pending background check results on new hires.  All Ayes


Contracts -Jessica Bohnstengel - 5th Grade, Morgan Ives - 3rd Grade, Rachel Davis - Assistant Individual Speech, Dina Keahna - Assistant HS Basketball, Andrea Rutledge - HS Boys Tennis, Shauna Smith - Director of Curriculum and Student Services.

Transfers - Carla Coates - 6th Math to 6th Science

Volunteer - Crystal Kephart - Individual Speech

Officials - Jerry Bisher - Baseball

Resignations - Jessica St. John - MS ELL, Dustin Peska - 7th Boys Track, Nate Van Dyke - 9th Football.


Discussion was held on the process to be used to possibly sell some school property.


Motion by Kline second by Dvorak to approve the issuing of a honorary diploma.  All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin, second by Kline to approve the Print Management Agreement with Premier Office Equipment and US Bank.   All Ayes.


The Board took a tour of the middle school building.


Motion by Kline, second by Dvorak to adjourn the meeting at 6:53 p.m.   All Ayes.



Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary