Regular Session - April 23, 2019

posted Apr 24, 2019, 9:39 AM by Mary Boege   [ updated Apr 24, 2019, 9:39 AM by Mary Mixdorf ]





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on April 23, 2019 in Regular Session at the Partnership Center, Tama, Iowa at 5:30 p.m.


On call of the roll the following were present:   Jackie Dvoark, Ron Houghton, Alan Kline, Mandy Lekin and Penny Tyynismaa.    Quorum Present.


Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege, John Speer, Kelly Smith, Denelle Gonnerman, Nancy Blow, Dan Lopez, Julie Rathjen, Patty Youngman, Vanessa Rivera, Joe Tafta, Molly Tafta, Micki Stonewall, Kris Collins, Mariana Fonseca, Nadia Jimenez, Vanessa Valdovinos, Yanira Araiza, John Kavalier, Brian Gumm, Michelle Werner and Jerimi Kopsa.


Motion by Dvorak second by Kline to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.


Motion by Kline, second by Lekin to approve the consent agenda approving the minutes of the March 18, 2019, April 8, 2019 and April 11, 2019 meetings, financials, bills for payment as presented and an Early Graduation Request for A.R.  All Ayes.


Public Comments - None


Denelle Gonnerman and Nancy Blow from the Iowa Association of School Business Officials presented Mary Boege with the  IASBO 2019 Professional Leadership Award.


Kris Collins and Vanessa Rivera recognized the following businesses as Partners in Education. Ross Street Roasting Co, Clothes Closet, The Sound Doctor and the State Bank of Toledo.  Each business received a plaque to display.


Motion by Houghton, second by Dvorak to approve the following personnel requests as presented pending background checks on new hires.  All Ayes


Contracts - Madison Poage - MS TAG/Writing, Cami Scovill - 6th Math, Haley Wilson - Elem SpEd, Mike Cherveny - Seasonal Mowing, Ron Lowe - Seasonal Mowing, Bernice Yuska - Seasonal Painting, Wendy Stull - Seasonal Painting

Transfers - Amy Wade - MS SpEd to HS SpEd

Officials - Don Anderson - Volleyball, Greg Davies - Volleyball, Dennis Dirks - Volleyball, Jim Hall - Basketball, Dave Nitz - Basketball, Dan Rhine - Volleyball

Volunteer - Jerrod Bridgewater - MS Baseball

Resignations - Ali Vavra - HS Para, Derek Dixon - Asst 7th Football, Hannah Klaver - Kindergarten


Motion by Kline, second by Lekin to approve the FY 18 Financial Audit.   All Ayes.


Motion by Dvorak, second by Kline to approve the AEA purchasing agreement for foodservice  .   All Ayes.


Motion by Houghton, second by Kline to approve the Archery Pirouski Supper fundraiser.  All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin, second by Kline to approve the final reading of  Board Policy Section 300.  All Ayes.


Motion by Houghton, second by Lekin to approve the updated Administrator and Director Evaluation Tool.  All Ayes.


Nadia Jimenez and students from the Al Exito group asked the Board for permission to wear a stole at graduation to represent themselves as Al Exito members.


Superintendent Smith discussed with the Board the next steps to be taken with the Facilities Study.  A meeting will be scheduled with Estes Construction to go over some possible options.


Discussion was held on the District Mission Statement.  Superintendent Smith will bring back some ideas for the Board to review.


Summer dates for board meetings were discussed.  The June meeting will be the normal 1st and 3rd Monday of the month and July will be just one meeting on July 8th.


Motion by Kline second by Dvoark  to adjourn the meeting at 7:02 p.m.  All Ayes.



Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary