Regular Session - February 17, 2020

posted Feb 19, 2020, 8:07 AM by Mary Mixdorf   [ updated Feb 19, 2020, 8:07 AM ]




The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on February 17, 2020 in a Regular Session meeting in the PLN Room at the Partnership Center in Tama, Iowa at 5:30pm

On call of the roll the following were present: Ron Houghton, Mandy Lekin, Penny Tyynismaa and Clint Werner.  Quorum Present.

Also present were: Jared Smith and 25 or so community members

Motion by Lekin, second by Werner to approve the consent agenda.  All Ayes.

Public Comments:

  • Heather Garrett - STCEA - gave a statement that the school districts employees are behind the School District’s plans in regard to the Middle School project

  • Megan Rosenberger - thank you to the school board for all of their hard work over the last few years

Vanessa Rivera and Shauna Smith did a presentation of La Terraza Mexican Grill as a new Partner in Education.  This is the 18th Partner in Education

Megan Rosenberger, Micki Stonewall, Dawn Henley, Jan Williams did a presentation explaining the Elementary Reading Recovery program.

Motion by Lekin, second by Werner to approve the following personnel requests as presented pending background check results on new hires.  All Ayes. 

Contracts - Jerrod Bridgewater - MS B. Asst. Soccer Coach

Resignation - Tiffany Bridgewater - MS Asst. Baseball Coach

Motion by Lekin, second by Houghton to approve the first read of Board Policy Section 900.  All Ayes.

Motion by Houghton, second by Lekin to approve the Easter Bunny Ice Cream Social Fundraiser.  All Ayes.

Discussion about possible changes to School Board Policy (207.3) Regular Meetings.  

Discussion of March 3rd Bond Referendum Update

Motion Lekin, second by Houghton to enter into closed session.  All Ayes.

Entered into Closed Session: Code of IA 21.5 (1)(i)  Time: 6:51pm

Motion by Lekin, second by Houghton to return into open session.  All Ayes. 

Returned to Open Session.  Time: 8:10pm

Motion by Lekin, second by Werner to extend the Superintendent’s Contract through the 2022-2023 School Year.  All Ayes.

Motion by Lekin, second by Werner to adjourn the meeting at 8:14pm.  All Ayes.

Penny Tyynismaa - School Board President            Jared Smith - Superintendent/Acting Board Secretary