Regular Session - January 18, 2016

posted Jan 19, 2016, 10:07 AM by Mary Boege   [ updated Jan 19, 2016, 10:07 AM by Mary Mixdorf ]





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on January 18, 2016 in Regular Session meeting at the Professional Learning Room, Partnership Center, Tama, Iowa at 5:30 p.m.


On call of the roll the following were present:  Michelle Yuska, Mark McFate, Alan Kline, Jackie Dvorak and Penny Tyynismaa.  Quorum Present.         

Also present were: Mary Jones, Mary Boege, Rhonda Shaw, Jon Huebner, Ben Adams, Michelle Wiegand, Linda Aziz, Laura Edwards, Roger Wacha Jr., Joanne Wacha


Motion by Dvorak, second by Kline to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.


Motion by Kline second by McFate to approve the consent agenda approving the minutes of the December 21, 2015, Closed Session of December 21, 2015 and the January 11, 2016 meetings, financials ,bills for payment as presented.   All Ayes.


Public Comments:

Roger Wacha addressed the board with several questions about the high school addition. 


Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Dvorak to approve the following personnel requests as presented. All Ayes


Officiating – Don Anderson - Volleyball, Greg Davies - Volleyball, Brian Gillford - Volleyball, Bruce Johnson - Volleyball, David Lee - Cross Country, Charles Liston - Volleyball, Chris Weber - Volleyball.


Middle School Principal Ben Adams along with several members of the teaching staff presented to the Board on the Middle School testing data.  They explained different teaching strategies that are being used to improve test scores.


Superintendent Jones updated the Board on the high school facility project, the need to renew the Revenue Purpose Statement, graduation requirements concerning physical education and the TLC Grant.


Nick Hildebrandt with Struxture Architects presented to the board the latest drawing on the high school addition.  He showed the board a few different options that can be bid to cut the cost of the addition.


Motion by Dvoark, second by McFate to adjourn the meeting at 7:32 p.m.   All Ayes.



Michelle Yuska, Board President           Mary Boege, Board Secretary