Regular Session - June 15, 2020

posted Jun 16, 2020, 7:07 AM by Mary Boege   [ updated Jun 16, 2020, 7:07 AM by Mary Mixdorf ]





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on June 15, 2020 in Regular Session at the Partnership Center, Tama, Iowa at 5:00 p.m. with members of the board and community attending electronically through Google Hangouts.


On call of the roll the following were present:  Ron Houghton, Alan Kline, Mandy Lekin, Penny Tyynismaa.  Absent Clint Werner.  Quorum Present.

Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege and several members of the community.


Motion by Lekin second by Kline to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.


Motion by Kline, second by Houghton to approve the consent agenda approving the minutes of the May 18, 2020 and June 1, 2020 meetings, financials and bills for payment as presented.


Public Comments - Parents from Meskwaki spoke in favor of their child being able to play baseball at South Tama this summer.


Motion by Lekin, second by Kline to approve the following personnel requests as presented pending background check results on new hires.  All Ayes.


Contracts - Dina Keahna -  HS Assistant Girls Basketball Coach, Lon Wilkerson - Asst 7th and 8th Girls Basketball Coach, Ashley Raue - 9th Volleyball Coach, Cory Lang - K-6 Special Education at PC, Hannah Mullen - .5 Pre-School.

TLC - Jon Huebner - Instructional Coach Facilitator, Laurie Baack, Joy Schirmer, Kathy Wilkerson and Seth Koch - Instructional Coaches, Lead Teachers - Maggie Jesina, Keely Upah, Melody Cole, Missy Jesina, Natasha Becker, Amy Parizek, Marilyn Rippy, Lon Wilkerson, Heather Garrett, Amy Wyatt, Ashley Raue, Ashley Steven, Paula Miller, Amy Stotts, George Kuhter, Liz Weitzell, Jeanette Stacey, Stephanie Lane, Dustin Peska, Robert Tyynismaa, Dan Mayo, Chelsea Ahrens, Nancy Dostal, Ellen Moran, Dixie Forcht, Jeff Funk, Nate Doran, Victoria Hamilton, Dan Lopez

Resignations - Jordan Paulson - .5 Pre-School, Leah Fonua - 9th Volleyball, Allison Graham - Basketball Cheer Coach, Ashley Raue - 7th and 8th Volleyball.


Motion by Kline, second by Lekin to approve the FY19 Financial Audit.   All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin, second by Houghton to approve the final reading of Policy 207.10 Publication of Meeting Proceedings to reflect the name change of the newspaper.  All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin, second by Houghton to approve agreement with Iowa Valley Community College for the 2020-2021 school year.  All Ayes.


Motion by Kline, second by Lekin to approve the participation of a Meskwaki student to play baseball this summer.  All Ayes.


Superintendent Smith updated the Board on the possible change to the 2020-2021 school calendar extending the holiday break by an additional two days.


Student Handbooks were reviewed and will be brought back for approval.


Superintendent Smith reviewed a visit to IJH as a possible site for the Middle School, updated the Board on Return to Learn, Graduation plans and Baseball and Softball starting.


Steve McAdoo and Brad Beck reviewed the findings of a survey of the tennis courts and potential costs.


Steve Chyma reviewed with the Board the costs of a vehicle lift for the Bus Barn.


Motion by Kline, second by Lekin to adjourn the meeting at 5:58 p.m.



Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary