Regular Session - March 18, 2019

posted Mar 19, 2019, 6:33 AM by Mary Boege   [ updated Mar 19, 2019, 6:33 AM by Mary Mixdorf ]





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on March 18, 2019 in Regular Session at the Partnership Center, Tama, Iowa at 5:30 p.m.


On call of the roll the following were present:   Jackie Dvoark, Ron Houghton, Alan Kline, Mandy Lekin and Penny Tyynismaa.    Quorum Present.


Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege, John Speer, Heather Garrett, Dalene Werner, Larry Werner, Dan Lopez, Queta Diego, Dustin Peska, Todd Dale, Dixie Forcht, Taylor Hrabak, Mackenzie Beyer, Taylor Lekin, Jaelin Berger, Roy Frakes, Brent Bagnall, Eunice Avalos, Mariana Fonseca and Shauna Smith.


Motion by Lekin second by Dvorak to approve the agenda with the addition of the Archery Fundraiser.  All Ayes.


Motion by Kline, second by Dvorak to approve the consent agenda approving the minutes of the February 18, 2019 and March 4, 2019 meetings, financials, bills for payment as presented and an Early Graduation Request for C.P.  All Ayes.


Public Comments - None


Large Group Speech performers Mackenzie Beyer and Taylor Hrabak performed "Laundry & Bourbon" for the Board.


Motion by Kline, second by Houghton to approve the following personnel requests as presented pending background checks on new hires.  All Ayes


Contracts - Morgan McFate - Asst HS Girls Soccer, Jeff DeBondt - Asst MS Boys Track, Andrea Rutledge Head 7th Girls Basketball, Katie Haughey - MS Secretary, Jessica Wilkerson - MS Nurse

Resignations - David Hatch - Asst HS Girls Soccer, Andrea Rutledge - 7th/8th Asst Girls Basketball, Marissa Green - 7th Head Volleyball, Debra Witcher - Elem Food Service, Teresa Manfull - MS Food Service, Eugenia Castanon - Elem SpEd Paraeducator, Patricia Fairbanks - Elem ELL, Allison Streck - 6th Grade Math, Katie Haughey - MS SpEd Paraeducator.

 Motion by Houghton, second by Lekin to approve the classified and administrator salary increase of 2.17% for the 2019-20 school year.   All Ayes.

 Motion by Lekin, second by Dvorak to approve the agreement with Iowa Valley Community College for contracted courses.   All Ayes.


Motion by Houghton, second by Kline to authorize the Board Secretary to publish the FY20 Budget estimate, showing a total budget of $32,353,485 and a total levy of $15.35 per 1,000 valuation and to set the Public Hearing regarding the FY20 Budget on Monday, April 8, 2019 at 6:00p.m.  All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin, second by Houghton to approve the requests for new course offerings of  Drawing and Painting 2 and Advanced Art at the high school.  All Ayes.


Motion by Kline, second by Houghton to approve the Archery Challenge Fundraiser on March 31st.  All Ayes.


Dustin Peska and Todd Dale presented programming data from the Partnership Center to the Board.


Dan Lopez and several high school students presented to the board on future plans for the students, concurrent classes, graduation rates and other high school data.


Discussion was held on the Board Policy 300 Series.  They will be brought back for a first reading at the next meeting.


Motion by Dvoark second by Lekin to adjourn the meeting at 7:47 p.m.  All Ayes.



Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary