Regular Session - May 20, 2019

posted May 21, 2019, 6:52 AM by Mary Boege   [ updated May 21, 2019, 6:52 AM by Mary Mixdorf ]





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on May 20, 2019 in Regular Session at the Partnership Center, Tama, Iowa at 5:30 p.m.


On call of the roll the following were present:  Jackie Dvoark, Ron Houghton, Alan Kline, Mandy Lekin and Penny Tyynismaa.    Quorum Present.


Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege, John Speer, Vanessa Rivera, Brad Schweppe, Heather Garrett, Donna Smith, Larry Fletcher, Cynthia Roth, Shawna Smith, Skyler Steveson, Alexis Riha, Katie Campbell.


Motion by Kline second by Lekin to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin, second by Dvorak to approve the consent agenda approving the minutes of the April 23, 2019 and May 6, 2019 meetings, financials, bills for payment as presented and an Early Graduation Request for A.L.  All Ayes.


Public Comments - None


Brad Schweppe and Vanessa Rivera recognized the following businesses as Partners in Education. Mercy Care - Tama and Toledo-Tama Kiwanis.  Each business received a plaque to display.


Superintendent Smith recognized graduating seniors Skyler Steveson, Alexis Riha and Katie Campbell that have chosen to go into the education field.


Motion by Houghton, second by Kline to approve the following personnel requests as presented pending background checks on new hires.  Motion carried with 4 aye votes, Tyynismaa abstained.


Contracts - Blake Wedeking - MS Counselor, Jennifer Anderson - Kindergarten, Brian Trester - 7-12 Strat II, Rachel Russell - K-6  Strat II, Stephanie Panosh - Elem Food Service, Elinor Rutledge - Elem Food Service, Dawn Steuhm - MS Food Service, Levi Klopping - Asst 7th/8th Girls Basketball, Serena Lowe - Asst MS Softball.  TLC Lead Teachers - Elementary - Preschool - Maggie Jesina, Kindergarten - Lynne Clancy, 1st Grade - Mel Cole, 2nd Grade - Missy Jesina, 3rd Grade - Amy Forgie, 4th Grade - Amy Parizek, Music/Band - Marilyn Rippy, Elem Specialist - Megan Rosenberger, PE/Health - Lon Wilkerson, Library - Heather Garrett, Elem Special Education - Laurie Baack.  Middle School - 5th Grade - Ashley Raue, MS Math - Ashley Steven, MS Science - Paula Miller, MS ELA - Amy Stotts, MS Social Studies - George Kuhter, ELL - Liz Weitzell, MS Special Education - Jeanette Stacy, MS Specialist - Stephanie Lane.  High School - PHS - Dustin Peska, HS Math - Robert Tyynismaa, HS Science - Dan Mayo, HS Social Studies - Chelsea Ahrens, HS ELA - Nancy Dostal, HS Special Education - Ellen Moran, TAG - Dixie Forcht, CTE - Jeff Funk, Visual Arts - Nate Doran, World Language - Victoria Hamilton, Counselor - Dan Lopez

Officials - Deidra Mohr - Volleyball, Eugene Ubben - Volleyball.

Volunteer - Dave Wiese - MS Baseball

Resignations - Marla Behounek - Musical/Play Costumer


Motion by Lekin, second by Houghton to approve the increase of the lunch prices by .20 and the book, cleaning and activity tickets by $5 or the 2019-20 school year.   All Ayes.


Motion by Houghton, second by Kline to approve the first reading of Board Policy Series 400.   All Ayes.


Motion by Kline, second by Dvorak to approve the Technicians Flamingo Yard Flocking fundraiser.  All Ayes.


Motion by Houghton, second by Dvorak to approve the Social Studies Curriculum adoption for the 2019-2020 school year.  All Ayes.


Superintendent Smith reminded the Board of the Retirement/Service Awards breakfast on June 3rd at 9:30 a.m. at the high school gym.


Motion by Lekin second by Dvoark to adjourn the meeting at 6:15 p.m. into a work session.  All Ayes.



Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary