Regular Session - September 24, 2018

posted Sep 25, 2018, 7:41 AM by Mary Boege   [ updated Sep 25, 2018, 7:41 AM by Mary Mixdorf ]





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on September 24, 2018 in Regular Session at the Partnership Center, Tama, Iowa at 5:30 p.m.


On call of the roll the following were present:   Ron Houghton, Alan Kline, Mandy Lekin and Penny Tyynismaa.  Absent: Jackie Dvorak.  Quorum Present. Dvorak joined the meeting at 5:36 p.m. 


Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege, Heather Garrett, John Speer and Margaret Buckton from ISFIS.


Motion by Kline second by Houghton to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin, second by Kline to approve the consent agenda approving the minutes of the August 20, 2018 and September 10, 2018 meetings, financials, bills for payment as presented and Early Graduation Requests for I.B, and G.Y.   All Ayes.


Motion by Kline, second by Houghton to nominate Penny Tyynismaa as Board President.  All Ayes with Tyynismaa abstaining.


Motion by Houghton, second by Lekin to nominate Jackie Dvorak as Vice President.  All Ayes with Dvoark abstaining.


Oath of Office was administered to President Tyynismaa and Vice President Dvorak.


Public Comments - None


Motion by Dvorak, second by Houghton to approve the following personnel requests as presented.  All Ayes


Volunteer Coaches - Riley Rutledge - Volleyball, Moises Fonseca - Wrestling

Officiating - Don Anderson - Volleyball, Greg Davies - Volleyball, Tyler DeBondt - Basketball, Dennis Dirks - Volleyball, Brandon DuFoe - Wrestling, Jay Freese - Football, Jim Hall - Basketball and Baseball, Nadine Ihde - Wrestling, Bruce Johnson - Football, Daniel Johnson - Football, Tom Kemper - Football, Seth Koch - Football, David Lee - XC, Lois Long - Volleyball, Kevin Long - Volleyball, Dave Nitz - Football, Baseball and Basketball, Nathan Roberts - Football, Mike Spurlin - Football, Kory Staff - Football, Tiffany Thiessen Volleyball, Jeremy Weiermann - Football and Basketball, Bob Yilek - Wrestling, Bob Averill - Basketball, Steve Allspach - Basketball.


Motion by Kline, second by Dvoark to approve the Treasurers Report for the 2017-18 School Year.  All Ayes.


Motion by Houghton, second by Kline to appoint Ahlers & Cooney to serve as legal counsel for the Board of Education.  All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin, second by Dvorak to approve the Tama News Herald/Toledo Chronicle as the official publication.  All Ayes.


Motion by Dvorak, second by Houghton to approve the request to the SBRC for Modified Allowable Growth and Supplemental Aid in the amount of $160,328.62 for the Special Education negative balance.  All Ayes.


Discussion was held on the future meeting dates including the meeting in October at the Tribal Center.

The Board also discussed the upcoming IASB Convention and possible dates that they could attend.


Motion by Dvorak, second by Lekin to adjourn the meeting at 6:17 p.m. in to a board work session.  All Ayes.


Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary