Special Session - May 6, 2019

posted May 7, 2019, 5:26 AM by Mary Boege   [ updated May 7, 2019, 5:26 AM by Mary Mixdorf ]





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on May 6, 2019 in Special Session at the Partnership Center, Tama, Iowa at 5:30 p.m.


On call of the roll the following were present:   Jackie Dvorak, Ronald Houghton, Alan Kline, Mandy Lekin and Penny Tyynismaa.   Quorum Present.


Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege, Allison Graham, Heather Garrett, Megan Rosenberger, Eunice Avalos, Adreana Gallardo, Nadia Jimenez.


Motion by Dvorak  second by Lekin to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.


Public Comments - None


Superintendent Smith presented the Board with certificates and a plant in recognition of Board Appreciation Month.


Motion by Kline, second by Lekin to approve the following personnel requests as presented.  All Ayes


Contracts - Emilee Bean - 4th Grade, Nathan Doran - Summer Weight Supervision, Tiffany Bridgewater - Asst MS Baseball, Ashley Raue - Asst 7th/8th Volleyball, Dustin Peska - Asst 7th Football

Transfers - Derek Dixon - 7th Social Studies to 6th Social Studies

Officials - Jim Hall - Baseball, Nate Van Dyke - Baseball, Deidra Mohr - Volleyball, Eugene Ubben -  Volleyball

Resignations -Ron Hala - Asst Varsity and Head JV Girls Basketball, Dustin Peska - Head JV Football, Kristine Dixon - MS Special Education.


Motion by Lekin, second by Kline to approve the request for Al Exito members to wear stoles at Graduation.  All Ayes.


Motion by Houghton, second by Dvorak to approve the Archery Club for a golf tournament fundraiser on June 8, 2019.  All Ayes.


Motion by Kline, second by Houghton to approve the request of the Varsity Softball team to host a softball clinic fundraiser on June 14, 2019.   All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin, second by Dvorak to approve the 2019 Summer Food Service program and application. All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin, second by Kline to approve the Juvenile Court School Liaison contract for the 2019-2020 school year.   All Ayes.


Discussion was held on lunch prices and registration fees.  A recommendation will be brought back to the board at the next meeting.


Board Policy Section 400 was reviewed.  It will be brought back for a first reading at the next board meeting.


Motion by Lekin, second by Houghton to adjourn the meeting at 6:20 p.m.  All Ayes.


Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary