Home‎ > ‎Board of Education‎ > ‎Board Minutes‎ > ‎

Regular Meeting - December 19, 2016

posted Dec 20, 2016, 7:27 AM by Mary Boege





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on December 19, 2016 in Regular Session meeting at the Partnership Center, Tama, Iowa at 5:30 p.m.


On call of the roll the following were present:  Penny Tyynismaa, Mark McFate, Jackie Dvorak and Alan Kline.  Absent: Michelle Yuska.  Quorum Present. .

Also present were: Mary Jones, Mary Boege, Rhonda Shaw, Kevin Nelson, Dixie Forcht, Kris Collins, Stacy Stull, Taylor Zobel and FFA Students, Ellie Dolezal, Chad Woosley, Dawn Vest, Charlotte Shadden, Jim Roan,  Denise Fletcher and Mary Fasse-Shaw. 


Motion by Tyynismaa second by Kline to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.


Motion by Dvorak, second by Kline to approve the consent agenda approving the minutes of the November 7, 2016 and December 5, 2016, meetings, financials, bills for payment as presented and Early Graduation requests for S.M, B.H., D.N., B.P. and L.A.


Jim Roan with the Wieting Theatre presented to the board Phase II of the theatre remodeling.  They are requesting a letter of support from the School Board for grants that they are applying for.


Superintendent's Employee Award - Ellie Dolezal was presented with a  certificate from the Board of Education for being a fantastic community contributor for South Tama County and the STC School District.


Public Comments - None


Taylor Zobel and two FFA Students presented to the Board about the FFA Program and activities that they have been involved in.


Dixie Forcht presented to the Board about district assessments and test scores.


Motion by Kline, second by Tyynismaa to approve the following personnel requests as presented.  All Ayes


Contracts - Annie Lucas - District Wide Media Services, Emily Keppler - Asst. Varsity Girls Track, Lori Dvorak - District Wide Substitute Teacher.

Officiating - Bob Averill - Basketball, Brandon Dufoe - Wrestling, Terry Curtis - Baseball, Jim Hall - Basketball, Tom Kemper - Basketball, David Lee - Track, Dave Nitz - Basketball, Dan Rhine - Volleyball, Steve Schmidt - Baseball, Kory Staff - Basketball, Jeremy Weiermann - Basketball.


Motion by Kline second by Dvorak to approve the Retirement Incentive Policy with an annual payment maximum of $7,200.  All Ayes.


Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Dvorak to approve the Resolution to Consider Continued Participation in the Instructional Support Program and to give notice of a public hearing on January 23, 2017 at 5:30 PM.  All Ayes.


Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Kline to approve the Amendment to the Agreement to Establish a Consortium to Jointly Administer an Instructional Program at River Hills School located within the boundaries of the Cedar Falls Community School District..  All Ayes.


Motion by Kline second by Dvoark to approve the School Budget Review Committee application for modified supplemental for At Risk/Dropout in the amount of $245,959..  All Ayes.


Motion by Kline, second by Tyynismaa to approve the bid of $13,956.40 from RC Systems of Cedar Falls for the security systems at the Partnership Center and Administration Building.  All Ayes.


Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Dvorak to approve the SIAC membership for 2016-17 school year.  All Ayes.


Superintendent Jones updated the Board on the new construction at the high school.


Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Kline to adjourn the meeting  at 8:02 p.m.   All Ayes.



Mark McFate, Board Vice President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary