Home‎ > ‎Board of Education‎ > ‎Board Minutes‎ > ‎

Special Session - May 23, 2016

posted May 24, 2016, 10:00 AM by Mary Boege





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on May 23, 2016 in a Special Session meeting at the Professional Learning Room, Partnership Center, Tama, Iowa at 6:04 p.m.


On call of the roll the following were present:  Michelle Yuska, Alan Kline, Jackie Dvorak and Penny Tyynismaa.   Absent Mark McFate.  Quorum Present.


Also present were: Mary Jones, Mary Boege, Joyce Wiese, Steve McAdoo, Brian Petullo, Ben Adams, Laura Edwards, Scotti Hagensick, Mary Jo Cherveny, Christine McFate, Mary Fasse-Shaw, Mike Carnahan, Sue Carnahan, Tracy Anderson, Darcy Smith, Mandy Lekin, Jacque Kopsa,  Katie Towns, Mike Thede, Matt Zmolek, Jason Lekin, Darcy Lamb, Michelle Evans, Travis Squires and Nick Hildebrandt.


Motion by Dvorak, second by Tyynismaa to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.


Superintendent Jones congratulated the Middle School PBIS Team of Brian Petullo, Laura Edwards and Scotti Hagensick  on their State Recognition.


Travis Squires with Piper Jaffray explained the Financing of Revenue Bonds and how Sales Tax Revenues are calculated.


Public Comments:

Tracy Anderson, Mary Jo Cherveny and Mary Fasse-Shaw shared with the Board their support for the High School Addition.  Letters from Cindy Hill and Jeff and Kendra Kajer were read in support of the building project.


Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Dvorak to approve the following personnel requests as presented. All Ayes


Contracts - Derek Dixon - 7th Grade Social Studies, Emily Chyma - HS Student Council,

Officials - Brandon DuFoe - Wrestling

Resignations - Michelle Wiegand - 8th Grade Track, Brett Karkosh - Assistant Varsity Wrestling


Motion by Kline, second by Dvorak to approve the amendment to the 2015-2016 Budget.  All Ayes.


Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Kline to approve the K-4 textbook fee to $45, 5-8 to $55 and 9-12 to $65 for the 2016-17 school year and to keep the activity ticket prices the same at $45.  All Ayes.


Motion by Dvorak, second by Kline to accept the low bid from Garling Construction for $5,774,000 for the High School Addition and Remodel without any deducts.  All Ayes.


Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Dvorak to accept the low bid from BB&T Government Financing of 2.23% for the financing of the HS Addition and Remodel.  All Ayes.


Motion by Kline, second by Dvorak to approve the Resolution Directing The Sale of $6,315,000 School Infrastructure Sales, Services and Use Tax Revenue Bonds, Series 2016.  All Ayes


Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Dvorak  to adjourn the meeting at 7:08 p.m.   All Ayes.




Michelle Yuska, Board President                       Mary Boege, Board Secretary