Home‎ > ‎Board of Education‎ > ‎Board Minutes‎ > ‎

Special Session - November 4, 2019

posted Nov 5, 2019, 5:13 AM by Mary Boege





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on November 4, 2019 in Special Session at the Partnership Center, Tama, Iowa at 5:30 p.m.


On call of the roll the following were present:   Ron Houghton, Mandy Lekin and Penny Tyynismaa.  Absent - Alan Kline and Jackie Dvorak.  Quorum Present.  Dvorak joined the meeting at 5:47 p.m.


Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege, Heather Garrett, John Speer and Megan Rosenberger


Motion by Lekin second by Houghton to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.


Public Comments - None


Motion by Lekin, second by Houghton to approve the following personnel requests as presented.  Motion carried with all ayes.


Officials - Robert Averill - Basketball, John Bartello - Wrestling, Brandon DuFoe - Wrestling, James Hall - Basketball, Dan Hayes - Wrestling, Robert Murphy - Wrestling, Dave Nitz - Basketball, Kory Staff - Basketball, Jeremy Weiermann - Basketball, Bob Yilek - Wrestling.

Resignations - Chad Woosley - Transportation Director

Early Retirement Requests - Roy Frakes


Motion by Houghton, second by Lekin to approve Maureen Hanson's name on the ballot for the Central Rivers AEA Board of Directors.   All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin, second by Houghton to approve the final reading of Board Policy 204.01, Conflict of Interest for Board Members.  All Ayes.


Motion by Houghton second by Lekin to approve the first reading of Board Policy Series 700. All Ayes.


Motion by Lekin second by Houghton to approve the Middle School Soccer Program.  All Ayes


Superintendent Smith discussed the next steps for the STC Referendum.


The Middle School would like to create a new Dungeons and Dragons Club that would meet once a week after school.


The December 2nd Board Meeting will be at the High School in the Little Theatre starting at 5:00 p.m.


Superintendent Smith updated the Board on the Para Educators at the Elementary and the possible need for additional hires.


Motion by Houghton second by Lekin to adjourn the meeting at 6:16 p.m.  All Ayes.



Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary