District Information

More than 1500 students in kindergarten through 12th grade attend the South Tama County Community School District. Our district has four attendance centers which include one elementary, one middle school, one high school, and one alternative high school. The district covers 262 square miles and serves the communities of Chelsea, Montour, the Meskwaki Settlement, Tama, Toledo, Vining, and the surrounding rural areas. The school district employs over 300 people and operates on a budget of more than twenty million dollars. It is the second largest employer in the community area.

The district is favorably located in the Midwest, in central Iowa. Four major universities, Marshalltown and Kirkwood Community Colleges are all within reasonable commuting distance. The larger metropolitan areas of Des Moines, Waterloo, and Cedar Rapids are only an hour's drive away.

The Superintendent of South Tama County Community School District is Dr. Jared Smith. He has been the Superintendent since July of 2018.